Doctor Who Announcement!!!!!

If you don’t watch the popular BBC America TV show Doctor Who, you probably should go and watch all 777 episodes of Doctor Who before you read this post. (Just kidding. But seriously, watch the show; it’s AMAZING.)

Here’s a quick overview: The Doctor is an alien who was born a thousand years ago on a planet called Gallifrey. He travels through time and space in a blue police box and can regenerate into a new person. The Doctor has companions who travel with him, and as of now, the Doctor is in his eleventh incarnation.

Keep in mind, that was a VERY simplified synopsis. It gets much more complicated than that. But that’s pretty much what you need to know. (And if you do watch Doctor Who, we can rejoice together as fellow Whovians. 🙂 )

On Sunday, August 4, BBC revealed who the twelfth doctor will be. It wasn’t an episode of Doctor Who, and The Doctor hasn’t regenerated yet officially. There was a live broadcast on BBC where, after a huge buildup, they revealed British actor Peter Capaldi as the twelfth doctor.

So this is big news. Ever since the announcement that the eleventh doctor will be regenerating during the 50th anniversary special in November, there has been HUGE speculation as to whom the twelfth doctor will be. So I was super psyched to watch the announcement.

I’m going to miss Matt Smith (the actor who plays the eleventh doctor) a lot. He was my favorite Doctor. I love everything about the eleventh doctor, from his quirky mannerisms to his fez, and it’s going to be really sad to see him go.

But I have high hopes for Peter Capaldi, and I know he’s going to make an awesome doctor. I’ve never heard of him before, but I think he’s been in some TV shows and movies. And maybe it will be a nice change. I think he’s going to be a kind of dark and mysterious Doctor, which will be really interesting.

And I’m really stoked for the 50th anniversary special. I’m hoping the Doctor sees Amy and Rory (two of his companions) again. They were my favorite companions of his, and I was really mad when they left. (Oops…spoilers.)

Jenna is out. Peace!

Leave a comment